Reflections on Being a Mommy of 2 under 2

I recently saw a blog post about a mommy who had 3 under 3 (her oldest was 27 months old when her 3rd was born) and it got me thinking. I would NEVER EVER change a thing about having my two 14 months apart. People told me over and over again that I’d have my hands full and boy, did I think I would! I also wondered how I’d ever handle working while doing this. For those that don’t know, I teach online counseling courses for a university and I can do this.. from home… While my boys nap ๐Ÿ™‚ It’s a great set up for our family, especially as we are planting a church and need me to work to help cover finances, but I am adamant about staying home with my boys. I really get the best of both worlds.. and for this… I am VERY grateful.

Well, July 24th, 2012 (the birthday of our second son: Gabriel John and his due date by the way) came very quickly from the time I held that pregnancy test on December 6th, 2011… In utter shock..

Sure, there have been bumps and bruises over the past 9 months as I learn a:

… completely

… different…

….child…

But, he has been the greatest blessing and my two little boys and their daddy are my world! I wouldn’t change a thing about the timing

.. At.. All.

The best thing about my two little boys being 14 months and 8 days apart?

1. They are already best friends

2. Neither was jealous of the other because they didn’t remember any different

3. They’re growing up together

I finish writing this post as they both wake up from their nap and giggle and wrestle TOGETHER while they both ride their “Scoot n zoom” …… TOGETHER…..

photo-6

This is the key, I believe.. Everything they do is together so they are learning vital life skills just by doing life together.

And what have I learned as their mom?

1. God’s timing really is perfect

2. No child is the same and God gives you certain kids to teach you to rely on Him more and that you don’t know everything ๐Ÿ˜‰

3. Life is way more fun with 2 little ones

4. You CAN love two babies both the same and differently

Overall, I’d say these past 9 months have been a blessed road and I’m looking forward to continuing the ride.

So, to the moms out there who are too scared of this idea, from my experience, I say go for it! You won’t regret it.

2 thoughts on “Reflections on Being a Mommy of 2 under 2

Leave a Reply

