A few of my favorite baby food recipes!

A friend asked me if I would blog about a few of my favorite baby food recipes so here goes…

First of all, I typically use the wholesome baby food website at http://wholesomebabyfood.momtastic.com/

This site is fabulous for finding unique recipes and learning what is appropriate for each age.

Let me just say that my boys LOOOOVE bananas… It’s a staple food around our house.

We buy about 18 bananas a week because they go crazy over them.

With that said, one of my favorite recipes on this site is Oat & ‘Naner Drops found under the Teething Biscuits section: http://wholesomebabyfood.momtastic.com/teethingbiscuits.htm#.UX77thwlt5d and freeze these to keep for a long time!

As far as pureed food goes, some favorite combinations have been: Blueberries and peaches; Pears, bananas, and avocado; and Apple, pear, and oatmeal. I just cook the pears and apples by cutting them in half and placing them face down on a piece of foil on a baking sheet. I then use my Magic Bullet and puree them together. I then add the oats to thicken anything up as needed. Very easy and delicious!

Another simple suggestion, although not an actual recipe, but Gabe devours pumpkin out of a can! This is such an easy food to serve… No work required… And what mom doesn’t love that?

I also made Cale’s First Birthday Smash Cake using a recipe from this site. See the Applesauce Spice Cake and Sugar-free Cream Cheese Frosting at this link: http://wholesomebabyfood.momtastic.com/tipFirstBDay.htm#.UX7-ABwlt5c. It didn’t have any sugar in it 😉 We figured why introduce it before he could ask for it? But….

246521_10100447398766638_1201160968_n

…I’d say he loved it 😉

Another favorite snack idea that my friend Alex introduced us to today are Sweet Potato Fries or Chips found here: http://wholesomebabyfood.momtastic.com/babyfingerfood.htm#.UX78hBwlt5c

Cale didn’t get into these as much because they weren’t a typical snack 😉 but Gabe gobbled them up.

I’ll include a few more recipes in future posts! But this is a good starting place.

Have a great Monday!

One thought on “A few of my favorite baby food recipes!

Leave a Reply

