SHOPPING AT OUR WALMART AND OUR DELICIOUS AND HEALTHY BREAKFAST SMOOTHIE RECIPE!

Well, as you can see, I took a day off from blogging yesterday. It was a little crazy over here and the bright shining moment of the day (which is a close second to Thursday night’s moment in which Gabe pooped all over the bathroom floor, crawled through it and played with it) was being the mom with the baby screaming all the way through Walmart πŸ˜‰ and for those of you who know about the New Bern Walmart here in Raleigh, you KNOW this is not fun… especially not when you wait in a..

30…

Minute…

Line…

.. Just to check out! And then the clerk decides it’s a great idea to tell Gabe how he needs to open the lid to the fruit pouch to get anything out…

…Um, ma’am, if he doesn’t realize it, why mess with the “way past nap time” 9 month old?

538911_10100808618399598_328768058_n

 

This isn’t at Walmart, but it’s us shopping on a good day πŸ˜‰

My friend Jenny and I actually share our favorite stories from our trips to Walmart because, if you don’t have a great story to tell and actually laugh about, you just MIGHT have a nervous breakdown from the frustration of being there πŸ™‚

I promise I’m not hating on all Walmarts, but if you visited ours, you’d know EXACTLY what I meant…

So now that I’ve chased that squirrel around for awhile, let’s just say that yesterday, overall, was busy. Paper grading week starts Monday so I’m shooting high by attempting to have a clean house with fully folded and put away laundry (why is the putting away part such a struggle?).

Needless to say, our lives may be a little crazy this week so all of your prayers are coveted!!

Anyways, just thought I’d share mine and Michael’s breakfast every morning. I definitely can’t take credit for this recipe as my good friend and neighbor Sujeil gave it to me, but it is DELICIOUS and both of us love it to start off our day.

Breakfast Smoothie for 2:

1/2 cup coconut water (sometimes I put in a little more)

1- 1 1/2 cup water or juice if you’d prefer

Yogurt that you’ve frozen (1 regular or 2 small) or you can make your own (recipe for that coming soon!)

Kale (3 stems)

Spinach (a handful)

1 apple

1 banana

1 TBSP- Flaxseed, Chia seeds, Oat groats, Almond Butter (you can substitute any of these out if you’d like)

And we sometimes use beets if we have them though this gives it much more of a root taste.

Apparently, you can find the flaxseed and chia seeds very cheap at Costco and we’ve had success with the coconut water and almond butter from Whole Foods. Just some suggestions!

This is a recent addition to our food intake and it does make our grocery budget a little more, but we feel it’s worth it for the health benefits were receiving!

Have a great Saturday!

2 thoughts on “SHOPPING AT OUR WALMART AND OUR DELICIOUS AND HEALTHY BREAKFAST SMOOTHIE RECIPE!

  1. OMG Ariel. I think I would’ve cried in Walmart, actually, I know being pregnant that I definitely would. Haha! OMG and that cashier. Haha! Oy! Why they think they have the magic touch to make a child happy is funny to me. Great smoothie recipe! Although, looks slightly difficult to prepare. What are your tricks to making throwing in everything take less time? Love you! You’re a great mommy and kudos to making it through yesterday!

    • Haha thanks! I know! And that’s not even the worst. When I was pregnant with Gabe, I had a lady yell at me from across the parking lot about how big I was! LOL Oh Walmart..

Leave a Reply

