Kingdom Living

As many of you know, my husband is a pastor, and even more unique than that, he’s a church planter. What this means is that we moved to Raleigh to start a church. This has been a roller coaster ride, but that’s a story for another day đŸ˜‰

Anyways, our church has really begun to focus on kingdom living. And, while this is something that the body of Christ as a whole should focus on, I think that even those that don’t have a relationship with Jesus can benefit from this post.

We had Life Group the other night (this is a small group that meets in a home) and I learned a lot of new ideas, but it also spurred on a deeper thought process about this topic.

My personal definition of kingdom living is: my sole desire in life is to see more and more people come into the kingdom of God and for this to affect my life in every area, especially in the way I view others and care for others. In the end, it comes down to unselfish living.

Let me give some examples of the way this has either played out or should be played out in my own life:

  • Despite how many times someone ridicules me, I still see them as someone made in the image of God
  • Despite how much I want to walk away from a friend or family member that is no longer acting like that, I can’t because I want so badly for them to have a true relationship with the Lord.
  • Despite how much I wanted our first baby that I lost, I prayed that, if they would never come to know the Lord in this lifetime, that he take them to heaven now.
  • Despite how nervous I am to talk to an intimidating person about the way the Lord changed my life, I do.
  • Despite how tired or busy or frustrated I am, I do not use that as an excuse.

A famous comedian and well-known Atheist, Penn from Penn and Teller once said: “How much do you have to hate someone to believe that everlasting life is possible and not tell them that?”

Here is his story about this:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5mf5f_8kdI0

I mean if he, a devout atheist, believes this, how do you and I often…

… NOT GET IT.

We just neglect it in our daily lives. In the end, are our lives about how successful we are, what schools are kids go to, how much money we make, what homes we live in, or what clothes we wear and cars we drive…. SO many Christians get caught up in these things the same way as the rest of the world…

Or is it about teaching our children, our friends, our enemies, the stranger on the street that the Creator of the universe loves them, working to save the lives of people caught in the human trafficking trade, serving the poor without ulterior motives, and, ultimately, saving people from..

.. Eternal

.. Death.

Do you weep over a friend or even an enemy who won’t accept the gift of salvation and you know they won’t spend eternity with you?

So, let me rephrase Penn’s question by asking “How much do you have to love someone to share the only way out of eternal death?”

Leave a Reply

