Birthday Party Pictures and Cheap and Easy Dinner and Dessert!

 

Well… Saturday was Cale’s 2nd birthday party and I’d say that we all had a blast! It had been raining a lot that day, but it let up just enough to have the party and cool it down a little! We had it at a local park and just spread blankets over a field and let the kids run around and enjoy the playground. I made an attempt at a planned activity, but the kids were having so much fun running around, only a few did it. We made bird feeders with pine cones, peanut butter, and bird seed. The same ones I remember doing as a kid!

It was good to hang out with both new and old friends and just enjoy each other’s company. Here’s some highlights from the afternoon:

ImageThis is when everyone sang the birthday song to him. He got super embarrassed 😉ImageThis was him enjoying the work of opening a present.ImageTurning away while they were singing to him. Too funny!ImageCale and his little posse! They had a ton of fun seeing how many kids they could fit into this wagon!ImagePose it!ImageWith one of his buddies Hannah!ImageUsing their “diggers” in the dirt! This activity went on forever!Image

Our little set-up. We did trail mix, dirt n worms, crackers and cheese, fruit, veggies, pizza bites, the cake, and lemonade and sweet tea.ImageHis cake and my attempt at decorating it for an outdoors party 😉ImageProbably my favorite thing about getting ready for his party. I borrowed this idea from several friends who have done it and was VERY happy with the ease of it and how cute it looked! I just took a plain piece of wood, chalkboard spray, and chalk! I followed the directions on the spray and, within a few hours, it was dry and ready to write on! Very fun!

 

Now, let’s talk about the cheap and easy dinner I am making tonight. It has quickly become a family favorite. See the recipe here: http://crockingirls.com/recipes/white-chicken-spaghetti/

I know… surprise surprise it’s a crockpot recipe 😉 But it is so creamy and full of flavor and all 4 of us like it! Plus I think I only spent about $7 total on it and I added mushrooms to it.

My cheap and easy dessert recipe I made last night when we had some friends over for coffee and dessert is pineapple dump cake. I learned this from my amazing mother-in-law and it is the dessert I always keep on hand for last minute get-togethers. This is all you do:

Take a can of undrained pineapples along with another fruit or pie filling if desired (I did pineapples and apricots last night) and spread it on the bottom of a greased 13X9 pan.

Then, sprinkle a box of cake mix (white or yellow) all over the top of it. 

Melt a stick of butter (1/2 cup) and pour it on top.

Then pop it in the oven at 350 degrees for about 40 minutes or until golden brown. 

It’s delicious, easy, and perfect to keep on hand!

Hope you’re having a great Monday! Let me know if you have any ideas you’d like me to talk about on the blog!

One thought on “Birthday Party Pictures and Cheap and Easy Dinner and Dessert!

Leave a Reply

