Memorial Day and Mama Bear

First of all, I want to take a moment to thank our military for the TREMENDOUS sacrifices they have made to serve our country. Words can never express how incredibly grateful I am and my family is. We know and recognize we could not live as we do today without this incredible sacrifice; however, I know I often forget it on a daily basis…

It really is sad how much we take our military for granted and how, even on the days that are supposed to honor them, we often neglect remembering while we get fat on hot dogs and hamburgers.

As I have had my own children and witnessed friends who had babies without their husbands there because they were serving, I understand even deeper the often forgotten sacrifice that both those who serve and their families give to us.

Yesterday, a beautiful video was shown at church to illustrate the extreme sacrifice and we had those who had served stand up. It was a blessing to be able to honor them; however, we just don’t do it enough… But with that, I will say… We love you and are deeply grateful for you!

Today, I took the boys to the pool while Michael worked (landscaping doesn’t stop for Memorial Day). We had a great time and it seems that Cale picked up right where he left off last summer. He jumped into the pool and started swimming to me and back to the steps over and over again. Gabe probably drank enough chlorine to last him a month with the way he was desperately trying to swim out of his float. I realized; however, that having two 14 months apart in the pool was not nearly as tough as I’d expected… But I admit, I expected it to be near impossible, especially since we do not like to do floats on Cale as we don’t want those to be a crutch and he’s so close to swimming anyway.

Either way, we had a great time and I was proud of both boys.

Mama Bear; however, did have to come out for probably the first time ever…

Cale was playing with his very much beloved squirt gun that is fairly new, but those who know him know he loves this thing. While I was nearby getting a fussy Gabe a snack, he accidentally dropped the squirt gun into the water from the steps he was sitting on.

This probably 8 or 9 year old boy saw this and swiped it right up and carried it to the other side of the shallow end…

… all under the watchful eye of his FATHER who did NOTHING!

Not a big deal, happens all the time. Parents don’t really pay much attention right?

Ok. This is true.

By this time, Cale was very upset that this very much older than him boy had taken his squirt gun for his own.

His dad even said “Hey buddy, look what you got!”

Oh no, he didn’t.

I walked right over to the pool and said “Excuse me, I need you to give that squirt gun back to me.”

And what did he say?

“Why?”

WHAT?!?!

And his poor excuse for a father didn’t say a word while he had watched the whole thing.

Then the disrespectful kid said “But I am having a squirt gun fight”

“It doesn’t matter what you’re doing with it, it’s not yours.”

Why do I have to be the voice of morality to a 9 year old whose parents should have clearly taught him these skills by now? How are so many children so disrespectful to adults?

Had that been Cale, I would have dragged him right out of that pool and made him sit out for the rest of the time while his siblings enjoyed their time.

Parents, please teach your children to respect EVERY adult and, obviously, be more respectful to children too. These are life lessons they need to learn in order to thrive in a grown up world.

We wonder why we have so many unsuccessful kids who mooch off of others for support.

They have never learned the meaning of respect. Respect for adults, respect for their peers, and respect for themselves.

 “Train up a child in the way he should go: and when he is old, he will not depart from it.”

~Proverbs 22:6

Ok, now I’m coming off of my soapbox!

Here’s some fun pics from our day!

photo 1 photo 2 photo 3 photo 4 photo 5 photo-14

Stay tuned for Wednesday’s post!

Leave a Reply

