Are Integrity and Honesty Dead?

Integrity: a firm adherence to a code of especially moral or artistic values : incorruptibility: an unimpaired condition : the quality or state of being complete or undivided.

Integrity… One of my very favorite words as a teenager and a word I strived to live by and “hopefully” with great work, be known by. When asked in interviews what my favorite word was or what I hoped friends would describe me as, it was a woman of integrity. I loved everything about what that word meant, but unfortunately, due to some recent circumstances, I have begun to feel that this word is dead in our current society. I read this article recently: http://www.forbes.com/sites/amyanderson/2012/11/28/success-will-come-and-go-but-integrity-is-forever/

…. And it got me thinking (surprise surprise πŸ˜‰

Where are all the men and women of integrity? Trust me, I have known some great ones… But let’s take a look at our society in general. People, as a whole, cheat their way to the top, stepping over whoever they need to in order to achieve their ultimate goal. As someone who felt like an abused door mat for the majority of my teenage life, I can say that I didn’t see much integrity among many of my peers and, now as an adult, I witness the death of this beautiful word on a daily basis.

As a mom of two young boys, I am striving to live a life they can learn valuable moral lessons from. I cannot allow a lack of integrity to corrupt my own life nor can I allow them to be influenced by those who are killing it one step at a time. Please take note that I am in no way stating that I am perfect, but I am running the race and integrity is an important part of that race.

So just think for a minute about the definition of integrity as stated above and read the article. Then, ask yourself the question: Are you practicing integrity or are you allowing for the destruction of it?

β€œHonesty is the first chapter of the book wisdom.” ~Thomas Jefferson

Oh honesty! Have you also deserted us? While thinking through some recent struggles with dishonesty, I said to a loved one last night:

Honesty is dead.

This is heartbreaking for our next generation. If we cannot trust people, what will the world be like for them? Will our children have to grow up in a world in which they can trust no one? How does this affect our belief system? How does this affect our actions?

It is hard to write this post, but as I promised myself when I began blogging, I would write about anything that came to my mind and was on my heart, without reservations, so here it is.

The definition of honesty is:

obsolete : chastity
fairness and straightforwardness of conduct
adherence to the facts : sincerity
Oh friends, based on that definition, honesty is dead… But I beg you, please prove to me and, more importantly, to our next generation, that it isn’t.
Honesty does not just mean being honest with others..
It means being honest with ourselves.
It means knowing and admitting when we’re wrong.
It means admitting that it wasn’t us when undue credit is given to us.
It means following through with commitments as promised.
It means not letting people gossip about others without standing up for truth.
Ultimately, it means practicing truth, despite the cost.
Readers, let’s take a stand for integrity and honesty. Let’s watch our lives live these words out loud.
Leave a Reply

