Schedule for the New School Year Part 1

As I head back into the Fall term of teaching counseling for an online university for my 6th year and with Cale starting pre-k from home, I’ve been doing a lot of reading and planning to determine the best way to focus my time with my multiple responsibilities. As many of you know, but some may not, I teach from home, I am the children’s ministry director for our church plant, I am a homemaker like many moms, and I have 3, soon to be 4 boys four and under.

Because my brain feels like it’s going in 100 different directions, I really have to focus my time and energy and make the most of the seemingly few hours that are in a day, all while dealing with some recent health issues I’ve encountered.

Over the past few months, I’ve been reading though and working through some of the activities in the book “Say Goodbye to Survival Mode” by Crystal Paine. You can purchase it Here. If you haven’t read it and are looking for something to help you thrive in life and not just survive, I highly suggest it! She’s one of only a few women that I know that I can relate to with the varying roles she has and the way she effectively handles them. The reason why I entitled this blog Mrs. Project Freedom is because of the very idea of saying goodbye to just surviving in everything: finances, our jobs, our home, life in general, and really focus on THRIVING with everything!

crystal-book

The biggest thing I’ve been working on while reading this book is developing an effective schedule for me so I am going to share this here for some accountability. I may end up tweaking it as we get in to the new school year.

Crystal suggests you begin with your 24 hours that you have and break your responsibilities down in to segments from there. Here’s what I have determined:

24 hours 6 days a week:

  • 30 min. quiet time in the morning
  • 2 hours evening time with Michael (either working together, planning and prepping, or just relaxing)
  • 30 min. exercise
  • 45 min. shower and getting ready
  • 8 hours sleeping
  • 1 hour for working on Kids Rock material 3 days and blogging other 3 days
  • 2 hour 45 min. teaching counseling online
  • 1 hour cleaning/home management
  • 3 hours meals and meal prep
  • 2.5 hours homeschooling, playing, and reading with kids/getting together with other moms and kids/playgroups
  • 2 hours of extra/margin time
  • Sundays: ministry at church all morning, rest in the afternoon

She then suggests you break this down in to a morning and evening routine and schedule everything else in between.

My morning routine:

  • 30 min. Quiet time
  • 1 hour 15 min. Get Ready
  • 15 min. Check work emails
  • 30 min. Kids Rock work or Blogging
  • Make breakfast and plan dinner

I’ve been learning a great deal from her blog as well at: http://moneysavingmom.com

This was part 1, stay tuned for part 2 as I break down my schedule into time slots and then show you how I plan to focus on specific goals within this schedule!

Leave a Reply

